About Jane

Jane Siberry is a pure, prolific, Canadian singer-songwriter, composer, musician, record producer, poet, renowned for her hauntingly beautiful music, a signature sound that is uniquely her own, and for her unfailing artistic integrity and creative innovations.


Siberry’s work has spanned over three and a half decades … her discography now totals 20 critically acclaimed CDs, including the hits Calling All Angels, Love Is Everything, It Can’t Rain All The Time, Mimi On The Beach, Everything Reminds Me Of My Dog, One More Colour, Bound By The Beauty amongst others. 


Born in Toronto, Siberry began playing piano at the age of four, developing her own concepts of notation and structure. In school she learned conventional music theory and taught herself to play guitar by working through a Leonard Cohen songbook. She began composing at a young age and completed her first collection of songs at age seventeen (later recorded on her album, Teenager (1996). Siberry studied music at the University of Guelph, but found the science class more intriguing so switched,  earning an honours BSc degree.


Siberry began her professional music career as a guitar and piano-based folk artist in the clubs and coffee houses of Toronto, where she also worked as a waitress. She independently released, her first album, JANE SIBERRY (1981). It was self-financed with tips and bartered studio time, and included the song Waitress (“I’d probably be famous now if I wasn’t such a good waitress…”).


She has also collaborated on records with artists such as Peter Gabriel, Nigel Kennedy, Indigo Girls, and Joe Jackson, and participated on noteworthy projects such as Time & Love: The Music Of Laura Nyro.


Siberry, continues to write, record and tour, reinforcing her role as one of contemporary music’s most original creative voices, surprising and delighting.



Studio albums

  • Jane Siberry (1981)

  • No Borders Here (1984)

  • The Speckless Sky (1985)

  • The Walking (1987)

  • Bound by the Beauty (1989)

  • When I Was a Boy (1993)

  • Maria (1995)

  • Teenager (1996)

  • A Day in the Life (1997)

  • Hush (2000)

  • Shushan the Palace: Hymns of Earth (2003)

  • Dragon Dreams (as Issa) (2008)

  • With What Shall I Keep Warm? (as Issa/Jane Siberry) (2009)

  • Meshach Dreams Back (2011)

  • Angels Bend Closer (2016)


Live albums 

  • Count Your Blessings (1994, live, performances by Jane Siberry, Holly Cole, Rebecca Jenkins, Mary Margaret O'Hara and Victoria Williams)

  • Child: Music for the Christmas Season (1997, live)

  • Lips: Music for Saying It (1999, live)

  • Tree: Music for Films and Forests (1999, live)



  • Summer in the Yukon (1992) 

  • A Collection 1984-1989 (1995) 

  • New York City Trilogy (1999) 

  • City (2001) 

  • Love is Everything: The Jane Siberry Anthology (2002)